Tuesday 8 October 2019

Finalists revealed in prestigious state teaching awards

Thirty of Queensland’s most outstanding teachers have been named as finalists in prestigious state teaching awards.

From the Torres Strait, to Moura, to the Sunshine and Gold Coasts, this year’s finalists have had an extraordinary impact on students, their colleagues and the profession.

The winners of the Queensland College of Teachers (QCT) TEACHX Awards, which are the only state government awards that recognise teachers from all schooling sectors and the early childhood sector, will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday October 24, on the eve of World Teachers’ Day celebrations in Queensland.

QCT Board Chair Emeritus Professor Wendy Patton said the TEACHX Awards showcase the exceptional work of teachers across all subjects and year levels, in all areas of Queensland.

This year a record 243 nominations were received across six categories.

“Teaching is complex and challenging, as well as incredibly rewarding, and it is impossible not to be inspired by the work of these finalists,” Emeritus Professor Patton said.

“I wish to congratulate all the finalists on the extraordinary differences they have made in their students’ lives—it is a privilege to be able to highlight and share their work,” she said.

“I’d also like to congratulate the hundreds of teachers who were nominated for the awards for their teaching excellence. Your achievements and the contributions you are making are to be celebrated and valued.”

This year the QCT has introduced a new category, the Merline Muldoon Award for Innovation in Teaching, for teachers doing ground-breaking work to help solve problems their students face.

The QCT encourages all students, parents and the community to thank teachers for the important work they do on World Teachers’ Day, October 25.


Please see below for a full list on the finalists in their categories.

For further information please contact:

Tanya Chilcott

Media and Communications Manager


Excellence in Beginning to Teach Award, sponsored by TUH Health Fund
Mr Daniel Chen, Saint Stephen’s College
Miss Kirra Gold, Marsden State High School
Miss Laura Loucks, Tagai State College – Badu Island Campus
Mrs Gabrielle Milne, Nursery Road State Special School
Dr Susanne Sprungala, Kirwan State High School 

Excellence in Teaching Award, sponsored by Teachers Mutual Bank
Mrs Ruth MacLean, Indooroopilly State High School
Ms Catherine Nicholson, Chancellor State College
Ms Meagan Pearse, Anglican Church Grammar School
Ms Michelle Ragen, Brisbane Grammar School
Ms Carla Trott, St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School

Innovation in Teaching Award, sponsored by Schoolzine
Mr Kevin Butler, Stanton Lodge, Townsville
Mrs Wendy Goldston, Frenchville State School
Mrs Jennifer Irving, Nambour Special School
Mr Thomas Patterson, Marsden State High School
Mrs Belinda Rule, C&K Eimeo Road Community Kindergarten

Excellent Leadership in Teaching and Learning Award, sponsored by Teachers Mutual Bank
Ms Linda Eager, Kelvin Grove State College
Mr Patrick Egan, Emmaus College Rockhampton
Mrs Lynne Hardy, Mackay State High School
Mr Andrew Peach, Marsden State High School
Mrs Tamara Sullivan, Ormiston College

Outstanding Contribution to School Community Award
Mr Matthew Barber, Elanora State High School
Mrs Canan Coskun, Wisdom College
Dr Amber-Lee Donahoo, Burpengary State Secondary College
Mrs Tamika Megawatt, Maroochydore State High School
Mr Mitchell Robertson, Marsden State High School

The Courier-Mail Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Award, sponsored by The Courier-Mail
Mrs Kirsti Ellerton, Brisbane School of Distance Education
Mrs Catherine Heiner, Sheldon College
Mrs Norah Parsons, Moura State High School
Mrs Lynne Schlyder, Somerville House
Mr Michael Senior, Ambrose Treacy College