Accreditation summary template

National summary statement about the accreditation process

The accreditation process involves a rigorous assessment of an initial teacher education (ITE) program against a set of nationally agreed standards. Accreditation standards and procedures are designed to ensure that all graduates of ITE meet the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers at the Graduate career stage. This ensures the program is of high quality and prepares pre-service teachers for the teaching profession. The process also includes an assessment of a provider’s quality assurance and continuous improvement mechanisms, as well as ensuring that the provider has a nationally endorsed teaching performance assessment which all graduates must successfully complete.

In Queensland, each program is assessed by a panel of nationally trained assessors that includes school leaders, employers, practising teachers and higher education representatives. A mandatory site visit involving forums with school partners, graduates, ITE students and the teaching staff of the ITE program is embedded in Queensland reaccreditation processes. Panels make a recommendation to the QCT’s Professional Standards Committee, which holds responsibility for granting accreditation and determines the length of the accreditation period. A maximum of five years accreditation may be granted.

More information on the accreditation process may be found at:

Jurisdiction QLD
Provider Griffith University
Program title Master of Primary Teaching
Program type Postgraduate
Program duration in equivalent full-time student load (EFTSL) 2 years
Minimum program duration 18 months
Stage of schooling Primary
Mode(s) of delivery On Campus / Online
Campus location(s) Gold Coast, Mt Gravatt
Date of current accreditation 31/12/2018
Accreditation outcome* Five-year accreditation period granted
Accreditation expiry date (optional) 23/12/2023
Quality assurance processes in place

Quality assurance processes include, but are not limited to: 

  • ePortfolio evidence of achievement of the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers at the Graduate career stage  
  • Queensland Professional Experience Reporting Framework (QPERF)  
  • Graduate Teacher Performance Assessment data  
  • Graduate employment data, student satisfaction, and employer satisfaction data (QILT)  
  • Student attrition and retention. 


Program description and rationale

To graduate with a Master of Primary Teaching students are required to complete 16 units which include education studies, curriculum studies and professional experience in primary school settings. 

The learning/subject areas available for specialisation are: English, Mathematics and Science. 

The Griffith University Master of Primary Teaching includes 60 days of supervised professional experience in primary schools.  

For further information including entry requirements and career opportunities, please visit: Griffith University Master of Primary Teaching

The program design seeks to enhance beginning teachers’ identities as teachers and prepare them to make professional judgements informed by theory and practice. 

Griffith University graduates have successfully passed the national literacy and numeracy test (LANTITE), the final Queensland Professional Experience Reporting Framework (QPERF) and the Graduate Teaching Performance Assessment (GTPA). 

* Nationally accredited ITE programs delivered in Queensland are subject to ongoing monitoring, including:

  • submission of an annual report on the operation of the program
  • prior approval of any significant changes to the program
  • employment of only registered teachers to supervise or assess the work of a preservice teacher in a prescribed school.